Simplicity is what Facebook says it has been hearing its users calling for, so simplicity is the main focus of the privacy-controls changes it announced today. More user control came in a close second. Here are the three key changes, which FB says it’ll be rolling out “over the next few weeks”:
- “One simple control to set who can see the content you post” – only friends, friends of friends, or everybody – including everything you’ve posted in the past and in new features going forward, Facebook says in its blog
- Less basic information that’s visible to everyone by default. Users will now be able to control who can see their friends list and their pages (their causes, celebrities, brands, and other interests) – those two sets of info “will no longer have to be public,” Facebook promises.
- Users will have more control over applications’ and other Web sites’ access to their information. So if you don’t play games or use apps, FB says it’s making it very easy to “turn off Platform completely.” Or, if you “simply want to turn off instant personalization [of Yelp and other sites partnering with Facebook, based on FB users’ interests], we’ve also made that easier. Already, partner sites can only see things you’ve made visible to everyone. But if you want to prevent them from even seeing that, you can now easily turn off instant personalization completely.”